History of the NBA Draft – Pick Number 40

Basketball Insiders profile picture
Updated 4 months ago on
We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Number 40

Year Player School/Country – Team

2019 Justin James, Wyoming – Sacramento Kings
2018 Rodions Kurucs, Latvia – Brooklyn Nets
2017 Dwayne Bacon, Florida State – New Orleans Pelicans
2016 Diamond Stone, Maryland – New Orleans Pelicans
2015 Josh Richardson, Tennessee – Miami HEAT
2014 Glenn Robinson III, Michigan – Minnesota Timberwolves
2013 Grant Jerrett, Arizona – Portland Trail Blazers
2012 Will Barton, Memphis – Portland Trail Blazers
2011 Jon Leuer, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee Bucks
2010 Lance Stephenson, University of Cincinnati – Indiana Pacers


2009 Derrick Brown, Xavier University – Charlotte Bobcats
2008 Chris Douglas-Roberts, University of Memphis – New Jersey Nets
2007 Sun Yue, China – L.A. Lakers
2006 Denham Brown, University of Connecticut – Seattle Supersonics
2005 Monta Ellis, Lanier H.S. (MS) – Golden State Warriors
2004 Justin Reed, University of Mississippi – Boston Celtics
2003 Derrick Zimmerman, Mississippi State University – Golden State Warriors
2002 Juan Carlos Navarro, Spain – Washington Wizards
2001 Jamison Brewer, Auburn University – Indiana Pacers
2000 Hanno Mottola, University of Utah – Atlanta Hawks


1999 Gordan Giricek, Croatia – Dallas Mavericks
1998 Korleone Young, Hargrave Military Academy VA – Detroit Pistons
1997 Eddie Elisma, Georgia Institute of Technology – Seattle Supersonics
1996 Marcus Mann, Mississippi Valley State University – Golden State Warriors
1995 Dwayne Whitfield, Jackson State University – Golden State Warriors
1994 Jeff Webster, University of Oklahoma – Miami HEAT
1993 Rich Manning, University of Washington – Atlanta Hawks
1992 Steve Rogers, Alabama State University – New Jersey Nets
1991 Doug Overton, La Salle University – Detroit Pistons
1990 Bimbo Coles, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University – Sacramento Kings


1989 Dino Radja, Croatia – Boston Celtics
1988 Orlando Graham, Auburn University at Montgomery – Miami HEAT
1987 Winston Garland, Missouri State University – Milwaukee Bucks
1986 Augusto Binelli, Italy – Atlanta Hawks
1985 Mark Acres, Oral Roberts University – Dallas Mavericks
1984 Anthony Teachey, Wake Forest University – Dallas Mavericks
1983 Jim Thomas, Indiana University – Indiana Pacers
1982 Guy Morgan, Wake Forest University – Indiana Pacers
1981 Greg Cook, Louisiana State University – New York Knicks
1980 Dick Miller, University of Toledo – Indiana Pacers


1979 Andrew Fields, Cheyney University of Pennsylvania – Portland Trail Blazers
1978 Wayne Cooper, University of New Orleans – Golden State Warriors
1977 Robert Reids, St. Mary’s University – Houston Rockets

Content You May Like

The next evolution of basketball news, information and rumors.