NCAA News Wire

O’Neal, Hill headline hall of fame class

Alan Draper profile picture
Sports Editor
We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Former LSU center Shaquille O’Neal, Duke forward Grant Hill and former Maryland coach Gary Williams were named to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Also elected by a eight-person committee were Zelmo Beaty of Prairie A&M, Darrell Griffith of Louisville, former LSU coach Dale Brown, Five-Star Basketball Camp founder Howard Garfinkel and former Stetson coach, author and clinic director Glenn Wilkes Sr.

The Class of 2014 will been inducted Nov. 23 in Kansas City, Mo.

Williams also coached at American, Boston College and Ohio State. He retired in 2011, having won an national title in 2002 and leading Maryland to back-to-back Final Four trips.

Hill won two consecutive national championships in 1991 and 1992 while playing at Duke. O’Neal was the national player of the year in 1991 and 1992.

Alan is an experienced writer of online betting and casino guides. He is one of the main editors of Basketballinsiders.

Trending Now