Home » news » Warriors Win 2015 Nba Championship


Warriors Win the 2015 NBA Championship

The Golden State Warriors are the 2015 NBA champions, defeating the Cleveland Cavaliers in six games.

Basketball Insiders profile picture
Updated 10 months ago on
We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

The Golden State Warriors hoisted the Larry O’Brien trophy on Tuesday night, defeating the Cleveland Cavaliers in six games.

The Warriors won Game 6, 105-97, and Andre Iguodala (who started the series as a reserve) was named Finals MVP.

The Warriors are the first team since the 1990-91 Chicago Bulls to win a championship despite their roster having zero NBA Finals experience. Steve Kerr, a first-time head coach, is the first rookie coach to lead a team to the title since Pat Riley did it with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1982.

In Game 6, Golden State received huge performances from Iguodala (25 points, five rebounds, five assists and two steals), Stephen Curry (25 points, eight assists, six rebounds and three steals) and Draymond Green (16 points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists and three steals).

LeBron James wasn’t able to lead his Cavaliers to victory or win Finals MVP, but he did post more impressive numbers in Game 6 (32 points, 18 rebounds, nine assists and two steals). He finished the series averaging 35.8 points, 13.3 rebounds, 8.3 assists, 1.3 steals in 45.8 minutes per game.

The next evolution of basketball news, information and rumors.

Trending Now