NCAA News Wire

Wooden Award finalists named

The Sports Xchange profile picture
Updated 12 months ago on
We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Creighton forward Doug McDermott highlights the list of 15 finalists for the Wooden Award as the nation’s top college basketball player.

The finalists were announced Saturday.

McDermott, a senior, is nearing 3,000 points in his collegiate career. Creighton takes on Providence on Saturday.

The finalists also include three freshmen: Kentucky forward Julius Randle, Kansas guard Andrew Wiggins and Duke forward Jabari Parker.

The Big Ten includes two finalists: Michigan State guard Gary Harris and Michigan guard Nik Stauskas.

Syracuse is the only school with two finalists: guard Tyler Ennis and forward C.J. Fair.

Five other seniors made this list, including Louisville guard Russ Smith, Connecticut guard Shabazz Napier, Cincinnati guard Sean Kilpatrick, Florida forward Casey Prather and Wichita State forward Cleanthony Early.

Arizona guard Nick Johnson is the only junior.

Four sophomores, including Delaware guard Kyle Anderson, are also finalists.

The Wooden Award winner will be announced April 4.

Join our Telegram channel for our exclusive free betting tips, picks and offers.

Up to the minute news and reports from the news wire of The Sports Xchange.

Trending Now