History of the NBA Draft – Pick Number 28

Basketball Insiders profile picture
Updated 4 months ago on
We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Number 28

Year Player School/Country – Team

2019 Jordan Poole, Michigan – Golden State Warriors
2018 Jacob Evans, Cincinnati – Golden State Warriors
2017 Tony Bradley, North Carolina – Los Angeles Lakers
2016 Skal Labissiere, Kentucky – Phoenix Suns
2015 R.J. Hunter, Georgia State – Boston Celtics
2014 C.J. Wilcox, Washington – Los Angeles Clippers
2013 Livio Jean-Charles, France – San Antonio Spurs
2012 Perry Jones III, Baylor – Oklahoma City Thunder
2011 Norris Cole, Cleveland State University – Chicago Bulls
2010 Greivis Vasquez, University of Maryland – Memphis Grizzlies


2009 Wayne Ellington, University of North Carolina – Minnesota Timberwolves
2008 Donte Greene, Syracuse – Memphis Grizzlies (Draft rights traded to Houston Rockets)
2007 Tiago Splitter, Brazil – San Antonio Spurs
2006 Maurice Ager, Michigan State – Dallas Mavericks
2005 Ian Mahinmi, STB Le Havre (France) – San Antonio Spurs
2004 Beno Udrih, Breil Milano, Italy – San Antonio Spurs
2003 Leandrinho Barbosa, Brazil – San Antonio Spurs (Draft rights traded to Phoenix Suns)
2002 Dan Dickau, Gonzaga – Sacramento Kings (Draft rights traded to Atlanta Hawks)
2001 Tony Parker, France – San Antonio Spurs
2000 Erick Barkley, St. John’s – Portland Trail Blazers


1999 Scott Padgett, Kentucky – Utah Jazz
1998 Corey Benjamin, Oregon State – Chicago Bulls
1997 Keith Booth, Maryland – Chicago Bulls
1996 Priest Lauderdale, Central State – Atlanta Hawks
1995 Greg Ostertag, Kansas – Utah Jazz

2nd round:
1994 Deon Thomas, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign – Dallas Mavericks
1993 Lucious Harris, California State University, Long Beach – Dallas Mavericks
1992 Marlon Maxey, University of Texas at El Paso – Minnesota Timberwolves
1991 Kevin Lynch, University of Minnesota – Charlotte Hornets
1990 Les Jepsen, University of Iowa – Golden State Warriors


1989 Sherman Douglas, Syracuse University – Miami HEAT
1988 Andrew Lang, University of Arkansas – Phoenix Suns
1987 Rickie Winslow, University of Houston – Chicago Bulls
1986 Larry Krystkowiak, University of Montana – Chicago Bulls
1985 Ken Johnson, Michigan State University – Chicago Bulls
1984 Cory Blackwell, University of Wisconsin – Seattle Supersonics
1983 Rod Foster, University of California, Los Angeles – Phoenix Suns
1982 Dave Magley, University of Kansas – Cleveland Cavaliers
1981 Gene Banks, Duke University – San Antonio Spurs
1980 Craig Shelton, Georgetown University – Atlanta Hawks


1979 Danny Salisbury, University of Texas-Pan American – Golden State Warriors
1978 Buster Matheney, University of Utah – Houston Rockets
1977 Kim Anderson, University of Missouri – Portland Trail Blazers
1976 Bob Carrington, Boston College – Atlanta Hawks
1975 Dan Roundfield, Central Michigan University – Cleveland Cavaliers
1974 Aaron James, Grambling State University – New Orleans Jazz
1973 Patrick McFarland, Saint Joseph’s University – New York Knicks
1972 Mike Ratliff, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire – Kansas City-Omaha Kings
1971 Jim Rose, Western Kentucky University – Boston Celtics
1970 Paul Ruffner, Brigham Young University – Chicago Bulls


1969 Willie Taylor, LeMoyne College – Philadelphia 76ers

Content You May Like

The next evolution of basketball news, information and rumors.