NCAA News Wire

McDermott wins Wooden Award

Alan Draper profile picture
Sports Editor
We sometimes use affiliate links in our content, when clicking on those we might receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. By using this website you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy.

Creighton senior forward Doug McDermott won the Wooden Award on Friday.

McDermott led the nation with an average of 26.7 points per game this season. He shot 52.6 percent, including 44.9 percent from 3-point range, and led the Bluejays to the NCAA Tournament for the third straight year. He also went over the 3,000 career points mark this season.

The Wooden Award adds to McDermott’s accolades. He was named the Associated Press player of the year Thursday. He became the first player named to AP’s All-American first team three straight seasons since Patrick Ewing and Wayman Tisdale in the 1980s.

McDermott was also awarded the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s player of the year award Friday. He received the honor from Hall of Famer Oscar Robertson, whose name is on the award.

McDermott is the first senior to win the Wooden Award since BYU’s Jimmer Fredette in 2011.

Alan is an expert gambling writer who works as one of the chief editors for Basketball Insiders. He has been covering online gambling and sports betting for over 8 years, having written for the likes of Sportlens,, The Sports Daily, 90min, and His particular specialisms include US online casinos and gambling regulations, and soccer and basketball betting. Based in London, Alan holds an MA in English Literature and is a passionate supporter of Chelsea FC.

Trending Now